True Love or Publicity Stunt?

In today’s society, in order for celebrities to stay popular, they have to be entertaining to the public at all times, both on and off the set or stage. This means that their every day life has to be exciting enough for tabloids, magazines, and paparazzi to talk about. For some celebrities, it seems like they are constantly in the news. In some cases, it is rarely positive publicity. Other cases are the complete opposite; they seem to be constantly overcoming heartbreak or falling in love or other happy and romantic things.

Celebrity couples  are always a hot topic for the press. Some of these couples are absolutely precious, end up getting married and then live happily ever after. The news and magazines don’t seem to have as much fun with these couples. They’ll make the front page of a magazine for an issue or two of a magazine, but after that, they’re old news.

Other couples almost seem to be too perfect for words. Singers who record a song together and notice a spark while recording (normally right before the song is released). Actors filming a new romantic movie who fall madly for one another while shooting (again, right before the movie is released). Romantic songs seem so much more meaningful if we believe the feelings portrayed in the song to be real. The same goes for a couple in a movie. America really is full of a bunch of hopeless romantics.

We never really know how real these “relationships” are though. In many cases, these quick flings are arrangements made by the two celebrities’ publicists who are looking for an extra way to get their clients’ names in the press. The “couple” arrives to premieres together, smiles together for pictures, maybe a quick peck for a camera or two, and then they move on their merry way.

Tabloids say that a major pro at this dating scam is Taylor Swift. How on earth would the blonde teeny-bopper singer ever be able to grab rebel artist John Mayer? Coincidentally, their relationship first hit the news right when their duet, “Half of My Heart,” was released. Their relationship fizzled out almost immediately after their song became a hit. As a huge John Mayer fan, I refuse to believe that he would ever date  a country pop-star like Taylor Swift. I have nothing against Taylor Swift and I actually enjoy some of her songs, but in no way could I ever believe she and John Mayer ever truly had a relationship.

While it’s impossible to really know how real any celebrity relationship is, it is definitely a topic that’s always of interest to the public. In no way do I believe that a couple’s personal life is any of my business, which is why this subject frustrates me somewhat. I believe that relationships should be a personal thing between a couple. This is one of the major reasons why I have so much respect for celebrities like Reese Witherspoon and Nicole Kidman who don’t air their dirty laundry to the public.

The idea of a celebrity posing in a fake relationship for publicity alone is sad to me. It shows how nosy society is today, and it also makes me think that celebrities do not respect themselves enough as professionals to think that they’re talent alone will get their name out there enough. But what do I know?

Here’s the video of Taylor Swift and John Mayer’s “Half of my Heart.” You can decide how real you believe this relationship is yourself.

April 18, 2011. PR Connections, SPC 4350 01. Leave a comment.

Be My Guest!

Emily Leinweber has discussed a variety of topics on her blog throughout this semester. She is also great at keeping her blog up-to-date and posting blogs on a regular basis. One of the most interesting blogs that she has written is posted below.

Would you donate a kidney because of Facebook?

When I think of Facebook, I think of social networking, advertising, and a public relations forum for businesses. Who knew that a simple status update could persuade someone to donate an organ!

According to Ragan’s PR Daily, a few months ago a woman posted a status about her husband needing a kidney transplant and that they needed a kidney with O blood type. She wasnt necessarily asking as in putting an AD in the paper, but was just hoping that somehow her prayer would be answered.

Luckily, a man saw the message and notified her that he would be willing to donate and had the correct blood type. The transplant was successful and both men alright.

Who knew that Facebook could be used for more than talking to your friends, and keeping up to date with local businesses and celebs. Today, social media and the internet can be used for just about anything, even finding an organ donor faster than ever before.

I wonder if this will change the way the waiting list for organs will work?! Could it be the newest and upcoming trend?

April 18, 2011. Topic of the Week. Leave a comment.

Guest Blogger: Alexis Merante

One of my favorite parts of my Social Medias class this past semester has been the opportunity to read blogs written by my classmates. Some of my favorite blogs to read were written by Alexis Merante. One of her most recent blogs discusses her recent internship at a local radio station. This post definitely got me excited about my internship next year!

An Eye Opening Experience

14APR

I was fortunate enough to have interned with an absolutely amazing company, and to add to it I was working under an amazing supervisor.

I interned for Hall Communications Radio Group. It is located in downtown Lakeland and runs the Big 4 Radio stations for the area; WLKF, WONN, WPCV, WPCV.

The radio industry was totally new for me, and I really didn’t know what to expect. I was curious to see how much I could learn from an industry thats popularity is dwindling due to XM radio and Sirius Radio. As I get ready to graduate my mind is open to any industry where I could use my PR and advertising skills. I interned for the promotions department, and could not have had a more hands on experience.

The first thing I learned is that radio is not going anywhere!! There are still tons and tons of listeners, and very loyal listeners at that. Another very important thing I learned is that loyalty is everything in a business like radio. When you gain a client you have to make sure you keep a client, especially in an economy like we are in now.

Radio is a great tool for PR professionals to use when they are trying to hit a direct market. Each radio station has very distinct demographic and businesses can use that to their advantage.

My jobs varied from completing weekly affidavits, to dealing with contest winners. I was able to attend remote broadcasts, a concert, and help facilitate with a radiothon.

The internship taught me that radio is something I could really enjoy and that there are so many aspects of the radio industry that people don’t even know about.

This is a funny Radio Industry Parody Youtube that I found.

Alexis is one of the most ambitious people I have ever met and that definitely shows in her blog. Check it out to see what else she is talking about!

April 18, 2011. SPC 4350 01, Topic of the Week. Leave a comment.